Sanitation Institutions Mapping in South Sudan


The Sustainable Urban Water and Sanitation in Africa (SUWASA) program, implemented from 2009 to 2015, was a regional initiative to foster the transformation of water and sanitation delivery services in Africa to achieve their long-term financial sustainability through the application of market-based principles. The program fostered urban water sector reforms to solve challenges that hindered the effective delivery of sustainable water and sanitation services for urban residents in nine African nations: Ethiopia, Kenya, Liberia, Mozambique, Nigeria, Senegal, South Sudan, Uganda, and Zambia.

South Sudan's capital city, Juba, has struggled in the face of rapid growth to provide adequate sanitation facilities for the growing population. Despite the significant challenges around urban sanitation, only limited government or donor investments have been in urban sanitation due to many competing priorities. Part of the reason for this low investment is that institutional arrangements in the sector remain unclear due to the number of players involved and the concomitant lack of clarity on roles and responsibilities. In an effort to unravel this complexity, SUWASA mapped the key institutions involved with urban sanitation in Juba to provide some clarity on who does what as a way of contributing to strengthening activities and attracting investments into the sector. This report presents the results of the mapping activity.