WaterAid Webinar: Safety and Wellbeing of Sanitation Workers During COVID-19 in South Asia, September 3, 2020

WaterAid

Sanitation workers provide an essential public service – keeping our cities, towns and villages running and clean, even in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. Despite working in a dangerous profession under heightened risks, little is known about how sanitation workers are coping with COVID-19.

WaterAid facilitated rapid assessments in four South Asian countries – Bangladesh, India, Nepal and Pakistan – which identify the challenges being faced by sanitation workers in the midst of lockdowns, and proposes potential solutions to address both immediate and longer-term needs of workers.

There has always been a strong, but neglected, moral and public health imperative to protect sanitation workers’ rights. The COVID-19 pandemic not only strengthens that case, but also represents an opportunity to redress the historical neglect.

WaterAid will share the regional synthesis of these studies in a webinar, followed by a panel discussion with members of worker communities, and experts from government and civil society across these countries.

Date: Thursday, 3rd September 2020

Time:

  • 2:30 PM – 4:00 PM (Pakistan)
  • 3:00 PM – 4:30 PM (India)
  • 3:15 PM – 4:45 PM (Nepal)
  • 3:30 PM – 5:00 PM (Bangladesh)

To join the webinar by Zoom on Sept. 3, please click here

For any queries, contact Ms. Shahrukh Mirza at shahrukhmirza@wateraid.org.

 

Webinar
Event Date(s)
Published